Is coffee healthy for you, and more questions answered ?

In September I spit in a plastic collection device and sent the saliva to Great Britain to be analyzed by FitnessGenes.  The lab extracted my DNA from the saliva sample and analyzed it.

Three weeks later I received an analysis of 40 genetic variations related to the big three of sports types: endurance, strength, and speed.  My results also included the types of training that I should undertake, along with specific dietary recommendations and even  supplements that my particular body should respond to.

I’m still digesting the results, but the actual data confirmed that I was on the right track with my approach to training and eating even before I learned about what was up, or down in some findings, with my genes.

In sum, I have a profile suggesting that my endurance is stronger than strength and speed.  I have been successful in long distance endurance events ( Triple Crown of hiking), so the details of my particular genetic package will be useful in my planning to continue to home my dietary and training choices.

My experience with FitnessGenes led me  to understand that there can be no one “true” dietary or training recommendation that fits all, whether it be drinking milk as an adult, or as the following article explains, consuming coffee.  There are few things the wellness world is more divided on than morning joe.

I love coffee. I thank my parents, Chester and Isabel, for providing me with a favorable CYP1A2 gene. My AA genotype characterizes me as a fast coffee metabolizer. Forty percent of people are fast metabolizers. About 45 percent have both a slow and a fast copy, and 15 percent carry two copies of the slow allele. Studies have shown that taking caffeine improves performance in sports and exercise. Research also  indicates that fast metabolizers, like me, also saw their risk of hypertension fall as their coffee intake rose.

Do read this !–> Is coffee healthy for you, and more questions answered | Well+Good

 

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

