Massachusetts hiker, 26, found dead after Christmas Eve hike in White Mountains, from the The Boston Globe

Hypothermia grants no special deals for previous experience.  Very difficult for me to read, understand, and consider.  

“Jack Holden had been at home in the forest since he was a Cub Scout. On Saturday, he had a pack full of gear, including a locator he could activate if he got in trouble.”

Read full story here:  Boston Globe article

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Imported Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Massachusetts hiker, 26, found dead after Christmas Eve hike in White Mountains, from the The Boston Globe

  1. isn’t there supposed to be a link? here’s one: https://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/2016/12/27/massachusetts-hiker-found-dead-after-christmas-eve-hike-white-mountains/GpSjIDMoAP09hVOMlcbWlO/story.html

    very sad to see that an experienced hiker whose resume includes having checked off all the right boxes ( Eagle Scout, etc) would succumb. It was evidently 32 and raining – the same storm I avoided when driving south. There is an argument to be made for taking a look and deciding to go home and sit by the fire with hot cocoa. I am not afraid to turn around and I’ve grown more cautious the older I get.

  2. tjamrog says:

    Thanks for the heads up, Joe. There is occasionally a mismatch when I try to automatically “Press this” to linked articles. I think I fixed it. Hopefully, tou won’t need to address hypothermia while in FLA.

  3. When I trained for my EMT certification many years ago, our instructors informed us that a surprising number of deaths from “exposure” (hypothermia) occur in temperatures in the 60°F range….and that the body loses heat to an exponential degree when wet (includes sweating on exertion and cooling at rest).
    Much ado is made in some quarters, therefore, about “hydroohobic” insulation materials, i.e. “Climashield/Lamilite”, though opinions vary widely.

  4. Jennifer Sinclair says:

    Words that I have read is that “Hypothermia sneaks upon you”. It is deceiving. so we must heed what the writer (Curran) says above. Along with Joe N. (above), I too find this article about Jack Holden so difficult to read.

Leave a Reply

