Baxter State Park: Day 2 of 6

We’ve walked 16.5 miles in the past two days over relatively flat terrain to reach Lean Two #12 a half- mile down the west side of Lower South Branch Pond by late afternoon.
Right off the bat today, we hit a bonus – ripe wild Maine blueberries.
There were some surprisingly thick bunches left on the low lying bushes along the trail.


Who could pass these by? We stopped to graze for a while and took mental pictures in order to identify the stretch on our way back.

Wild blueberries are concentrated packets of power: in taste, vibratory purple colors, and nutritional fortitude. Back home, I have 120 pounds stored in half my freezer.  I’m able to breakfast on this hike just like I do at home here


We had to deal with a major flooding of the trail this morning by beaver flowage a mile past Pogy Pond on the Pogy Notch Trail.

I bypassed taking my boots and socks off in favor of walking along the top of a smaller beaver dam upstream.

 While my boots got soaked, the water never went over the tops.
I also find damp feet refreshing when it is warm out, where I appreciate the ventilation of this pair of footwear. Once back walking on higher ground, my feet dried in a couple of hours.
Our lean-to tonight is an isolated walk-in site. It is far enough down shore of the main cluster of buildings at South Branch that we considered renting one of the canoes here to load firewood along with with our backpacks to get here.

In the end, that seemed cumbersome. I left my money back in the car, the ranger was way from her cabin some were else here, and what’s a little more walking at the end of double digit miles?

Once again, we took off our shoes and socks in order to ford a shallow stream that we needed to cross in order to reach our campsite for the night.


I really enjoyed watching the evening sunlight illuminate the side of North Traveler ridge on the other side of the pond. The colors on the bare ledges intensified as the day dropped away.


Meanwhile Gaspedal kindled a good evening campfire while Rockrabbit used one of his five knives to baton kindling and smaller diameter billets from big dry wood chunks that previous campers had left for us.


The boys then rigged up a line to dry out socks and wet clothing so that they could start tomorrow off with comfort.

Backpackers learn to cut down on pairs of socks, shirts, and any other clothing in order to save weight carried on our backs. One of the tricks that I use to dry damp clothing is to put it underneath my sleeping bag, on top of my sleeping mat, while I sleep. In the morning, the clothes are dry.

On this trip I wear one and carry a pairs of socks, I have two shirts- the shirt I am wearing and a dry top to sleep in, and a pair of long zip-off-the-legs pants as a back up for cold. I pretty much live in shorts in the short Maine summer.

 

 

 

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

