Hitting the trail on Canada’s east coast – The Boston Globe

I’m planning to thru-hike this trail next August.  I have visited Newfoundland about a half-dozen times in the days when I used to enjoy long distance motorcycling.  There are so many biting insects there that we often celebrated riding in the cold rain, which kept the bugs down.  I am looking forward to the simplicity of walking, although there will be logistical challenges that a thru hiker will need to work through in order to complete the whole 165 mile hike.

Despite recognition by National Geographic as one of the world’s best adventure destinations, Newfoundland’s East Coast Trail remains virtually unknown to Americans.

Source: Hitting the trail on Canada’s east coast – The Boston Globe

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Canada, hiking, Imported Posts, walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hitting the trail on Canada’s east coast – The Boston Globe

  1. Jonathan says:

    Off topic, not sure where else to ask you this. I know you use or did, the OTB New Balance boots. Do you know if the boots are being sold anymore? I’ve only been able to find random odd sizes.

  2. tjamrog says:

    Jonathan,
    I still hike love those OTB’s not found better yet. The soles are amazing. New Balance sold off the line. I have 4 pairs (unopened) to carry me through my golden years. They may still be out there under another name. I can ask my brother.

  3. Jonathan says:

    Hi Tom,

    Yeah, if you happen to ask your brother I’d love to know.

    Thanks,

    Jonatha

Leave a Reply

