My First Bike Commute of the Year

Great read from one of my favorite Maine writers.  It’s a glimpse of the freedom of early morning on a Mt.  Desert Island microadventure. 

maine: the way life turned out

I wake up at 4am and start looking out my French doors into the darkness of my backyard. It should take me about an hour, I keep telling myself, the last time I biked from Bar Harbor to the Parkman lot it took me a hair over an hour. Yet that was a couple years ago, and I am acutely aware of the softness of my body. I had only rode my bike for the first time the evening before, and I worried what I was about to attempt was more a reflection of my ambition than my ability. Part of me just figured my ability would soon catch up to my ambition, and I would just let the two work themselves out.

While I waited for a hint of light, I dressed for as if for a winter’s hike: long underwear, layers of shirts to wick away sweat, and…

View original post 852 more words

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

