Return to The Bike

Any December that I can ride my bicycle over the trail and ledges that head up to Mount Pleasant is fine with me.  When that ride includes two old friends like Craig and Rigger and we are riding on four-inch wide tires churning mud and gripping rocks both up and down it is even better.  Today’s ride up to Mt. Pleasant was punctuated by encountering three  four-wheeled drive vehicles right at the summit:  a jacked up off-road pickup truck and a couple of guys riding all-terrain vehicles.  Here’s a photo of Rigger, powered by his less than one horsepower legs going around the truck as he worked his way up to the Peasant summit.

Rigger moves along

Rigger moves along

There was a lot of mud that got churned up by our four wheeled friends today.  I got stuck in this rut heading up to the always challenging ” shit chute” .

Yup. Stuck standing.

Yup. Stuck standing.

The temperature dropped to below freezing last night, so this morning there was still ice to be avoided on the higher segments of trail, and everywhere the path was still in shade.  If  bright sun hit the earth, we were good to go.

I am so ready to put November behind me. Right at the start of the month on my first night ride of the Fall season, I went down hard and bashed my left knee on one sharp rock while crossing a stream bed in the Rockland Bog.   I suffered a deep gash, reaching down to the top of my shin bone.   I waited too long to visit the emergency room. It would have been stitched  if I went in before I went to bed that Tuesday night.  I was forced to take the next five weeks off the bike.

Six weeks later, a thick, unsightly scab is still lingering, and the bruised bone still hurts. I learned an important lesson six weeks ago-  wear my G-Form knee pads every time I am on these rugged midcoast Maine mountain biking trails.  Protective gear doesn’t help when it is  left in the van.

Here are some more photos and one video of what I call the Sunday morning Church of Two Wheels.

Nelly schooling Rigger overlooking Penobscot Bay from summit of Pleasant.

Mountain to the Sea

Mountain to the Sea

 

IMG_5373

Rigger and Nelly ready to head up the power line

Here’s a 40 second clip of Nelly and Rigger clearing Nelly Falls while heading back up to Backside Blueberry Field on the north side of Pleasant.

Here is the map and the profile of one great ride anytime you can get it, but particularly so in December.

screenshot 6Good call, Nelly !

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Gear, Mountain Biking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return to The Bike

  1. Sorry to hear about the stitches!

    Like

Leave a Reply

