What’s The Right Dose of Exercise for a Longer Life ?

On our seven mile round trip walk to breakfast in Austin, Texas

On our seven mile round trip walk to breakfast in Austin, Texas

“…the ideal dose of exercise for a long life is a bit more than many of us currently believe we should get, but less than many of us might expect”- NY Times

Where’s the sweet spot?

Last December, my son Lincoln suggested that I raise my daily activity goal to 1 hour a day. He’s steered me right many times since he stood by my side at age 3 and told me that it was a bad idea for me to try and drive my 1964 BMW motorcycle up a plank and ride it into the shed for winter storage. He was right. I was bruised up pretty bad after I fell off the plank with the bike ending up on top of me.

So I took his advice, about the one hour a day fitness goal. Lincoln also recommended I pony up the $59 a year to upgrade my Strava cycling/ running app to Premium level, where I have been able to set time, distance goals, and help myself stick to the hour a day average.

A quick check on my Strava Training Log reveals that since January 1, 2015 to date I have aggregated 486 combined biking, walking, and running miles. My hourly total is 123 hours in those 121 days yields a weekly average of 427 minutes, or 61 minutes a day.

Regular readers of my blog know that I stopped going to the gym (after 43 years)  after I returned from my 2013 thru-hike of the Continental Divide Trail. Doing so has increased my fitness, lowered both my body weight and total cholesterol below 200 for the first time in my adult life,  allowed me to lose 15 pounds, and ramped up my engagement in nature.

So, click on the link below to find out if you also might want to ramp up (or down in some cases) to an hour a day.

Additionally,  one of my blog readers suggested I read Gary Taubes’ Why We Get Fat and What to Do About It .  It’s excellent!  Reading it now,  I found this: “The USDA [United States Department of Agriculture] guidelines have suggested that up to ninety minutes a day of moderately vigorous exercise- an hour and a half every day!- may be necessary just to maintain weight loss, but they have not suggested that weight can be lost by exercising more than ninety minutes.”

The Right Dose of Exercise for a Longer Life – NYTimes.com.

Thanks, son!

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

