Local Adventures Way Down South

I’m known as Opie here in Austin. Opie is known for slinging a fishing pole over his shoulder, hopping on his bike, waving bye-bye to Aunt Bea, and heading off into the Mayberry’s countryside for local adventures.

Ever since I read Microadventures: Local Discoveries for Great Escapes, I’ve been embracing the concept of enjoying outdoor adventures on my own turf, wherever that might be. B1hi_AiCcAEFeWE Alstair Humphries’ idea of going local is catching momentum. There is a detailed explanation of microadventures here.

For the past five nights, my side kick Tenzing and I have been camping out in our host Mike’s back yard. photo

I been hiking in and around Austin the at five days.

The first morning I was here, I fired up the Garmin eTrex 30 and did a long loop walk of a couple hours. That first morning, I saw a turtle, nesting parrots, house plants by the sidewalks that were Hulked out to giantness, as well as some some most unique signage.

Pole dancing academy

Pole dancing academy

The next morning, Tenzing joined me. Sniffles, AKA Chameleon Boy, signed on with us then next morning. By the time yesterday rolled around, all of the folks in the house massed up with me and made the 7 mile round trip to El Chilito for breakfast.

Pounding pavement to burritos

Pounding pavement to burritos

The stunning Hamilton Pool was the object of our awe the next morning.

Mike and Dusty going in

Mike and Dusty going in

 

Sniffles coming up

Sniffles coming up

Later that day, we headed northwest of Austin out to Hill Country, where we had a most pleasant afternoon hiking at Enchanted Rock State Park. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big times

Big times

The next day, we had another local adventure here: Lady Bird Johnson’s Wildflower Center.

Grandfather trees abound here

Grandfather trees abound here

Tenzing, uplifting

Tenzing, uplifting

Yesterday, I reunited with my fellow Triple Crowner, Richard Wizard and his fiancee, Emmie. We took in a fun loop around Lady Bird Lake where we paused for picture of the two of us, standing deep in the heart of Texas.

Uncle Tom and Richard Wizard, hanging and hiking yet again

Uncle Tom and Richard Wizard, hanging and hiking yet again

Strava tells me that I’ve logged 50 miles of walking in the past five days. I’ll take smileage wherever I can get it, even in a city of close to 2 million, deep in the heart of Texas.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Fitness, hiking, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

