Healthy Body, Unhealthy Mind

I don’t care much for New Year’s resolutions.  I prefer making my own resolutions throughout the year, whenever I’m inspired to do so.   I also have not read any Pico Iyer since completing his groundbreaking 1989 Video Night in Kathmandu: And Other Reports from the Not-so-Far East.

Iyer’s stunner article made me change my mind.  It won’t take you long to read it, but I suggest that you so so.  –>>Healthy Body, Unhealthy Mind – NYTimes.com.

 Patrick Kyle image from New York Times

Patrick Kyle image from New York Times

I’m now going to try to read at least 30 books this coming year, along with 360 hours of combined walking, backpacking, and bicycling. I also updated to Strava Premium where I plan to rig up the heart rate monitor (yet again).

The slant of Iyer’s article is to redirect your cosmic magnifying glass on your own mental fitness. I am a true believer, and back that up by practicing Transcendental Meditation for one hour a day, as I have since 1970.

I shot over to Pico Iyer’s highly beautiful and inviting blog, and look forward to spending a number of  hours checking out what Mr. Iyer been up to since we last broke internal ranks.

On thing for sure, I will be launching into his latest book tonight, “The Art of Stillness: Adventures in Going Nowhere.”.  I just zapped it onto my Kindle.

What a world we live in!

Fitness is all around us-  we even get to stumble back onto that path, whenever our resolutions take form.

 

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Imported Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

