Today the men helped me

Today was a gift, however some serious pulling, pounding, and lifting were required to get at the treasure trove.  Since I have given up my decades-long YMCA gym membership this fall, the plan was to increase my outside “farm chores” in order to keep myself fit.  Today, I surpassed all my hopes that I could reach some degree of fitness, but needed three of my friends to make it happen.  They average out to about 75 years old, but these are no ordinary men.

Dave and Hank had helped me reconstruct the wood shed that had crashed to the ground during the winter of 2012-13.  Today Hank came back and we put the front trim boards on and then lifted and screwed down the metal roof.  Hank brought his tools, including the rechargeable drill.

Hank makes it happen

Hank makes it happen

We cleaned up that job in about an hour and a half.  I worked off the the tall ladder and walked on the roof. Hank worked off the shorter ladder. He’s 82!

While Hank and I worked on the roof, Dave and Gary began today’s firewood detail.
Gary is a master at felling trees.

Gary aims the fall

Gary aims the fall

His family farm in Warren goes back many generations. Since his retirement from his marine scientist position with the State of Maine, Gary has  amassed all the right tools for processing and transporting firewood. Gary was our main cutter today. Both Dave and I had to move quickly to keep up with him.  Here’s Gary, sharpening one of his saws with a Dremel attachment, powered by a quiet little Honda generator.

Gary is well prepared

Gary is well prepared

Dave put some serious miles on walking back and forth fueling the brush fire.

Dave stoking the brush pile

Dave stoking the brush pile

We took down an old stand of apple trees. Most were of the wood was diseased. I gave Dave several clear butt ends of apple wood that he’ll craft into bowls and spoons.  He’s a fine cabinetmaker, who has produced some remarkably detailed cabinetry and fine stringed musical instruments.

It was immensely satisfying working hard, and mostly wordlessly with these men today.
My Fitbit app on my 5s iPhone stayed in my pocket today, tracking my movement.  We worked for 4 hours and while I never strayed more than a couple hundred feet from my door today, the miles piled on.  Check this out!

Mileage, baby!

Mileage, baby!

I love these men, who graced me with their presence, and left me with a drying shelter for the cord of firewood that we worked up today.

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

