“Breeze”-Maine Triple Crowner, in AT magazine

In the current issue of AT Journeys ( April 2014),  Maine’s Brendan Drapeau ( aka Breeze) gets some well deserved  press coverage.  Download a PDF of the full article/with photos here  -Courtesy of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s official membership magazine A.T. Journeys  (http://www.appalachiantrail.org). The latest electronic issue is not yet available on the ATC’s website, but thanks to Wendy Probst, Editor, the article can be viewed here in its full format  (please respect that it is not to be copied , or altered in any way).  If anyone has a better solution for me to get this this to you, let me know.  As it stands, the first link above will result in  you downloading a PDF of the article (complete with photos) onto your device/computer, where it can be opened with Adobe Reader.

I briefly corresponded with Breeze before we both started our thru-hikes and was hoping to meet him on the CDT.  Breeze eventually surprised me by walking up to me at the decidedly funky Gila Hot Springs campground, just down the hill from Doc Campbell’s post.  Here’s a few pics from our rendezvous.

Mainers meet in New Mexico

Mainers meet in New Mexico

 

Uncle Tom and Breeze sporting their Appalachian Trail tattoos

Uncle Tom and Breeze sporting their Appalachian Trail tattoos

Breeze hiked with MeGatex for a few weeks, before he turned on the accelerator and took off.  He taught me to leave a motel room cleaner than when you entered it, a most unique practice among the normally messy stuff that Hiker trash normally walk away from after a night of copious cleaning, washing, and consumption.

Breeze and and I were both in the habit of rising at daybreak.  Breeze has a huge long stride.  He makes his mega mileages by walking early, walking all day, and then usually walking a bit later after supper.  His through hikes of both the AT and the PCT were done in a startling short number of days.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Continental Divide Trail and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Breeze”-Maine Triple Crowner, in AT magazine

  1. Annie MacWilliams says:

    He walked fast until I slowed him down!

    Like

    • tjamrog says:

      Breeze was definitely on track to stop and smell the roses for this hike. It happened for him, big time. You too?

      Like

      • Annie says:

        I raced through New Mexico to catch the crowd, came to a crawl in Colorado, and then we took our time to the finish line. And while I wouldn’t change a thing, I wish I had more layers for Montana! Your blog is missing one of Breeze’s best qualities, tolerating my crying in freezing rain for miles! Couldn’t have done it without him!

        Like

      • tjamrog says:

        Right from when we met him at Doc’s, Breeze told us he was not going to rush through. I miss seeing him.

        Like

  2. I ran in to Breeze in 2012 on Day 3 of my Southbound hike on the PCT. Him and his 2 friends were the first NOBO’s that I met! At the time, my friend was also drying her underwear on top of her hat on top of her head – and she had forgotten that it was there. While I got a huge kick out of this and was bent over laughing about it, she was mortified which made it even funnier.

    Like

  3. tjamrog says:

    I can think of a few choice trail names for that gal, but we’ll let that go for now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

