For Athletes, Risks From Ibuprofen Use

The Times just  put a big kabosh on a ritual that many thru-hikers consider an essential part of the thru-hiking experience.

Some typical statements from trail journals-   ” We carried Ibuprofen, but considered it more of an essential nutrient than first aid, ” and “Carried and ate large amounts of Ibuprofen ( like sweeties)”.

I myself have been guilty of gulping the stuff on my 200 AT thru hike.  But no more.

For Athletes, Risks From Ibuprofen Use – NYTimes.com.–< click it and weep (or get ready to suck it up and ache).

(I last wrote about Ibuprofen in September of 2009)

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

