Book Review: Buried in the Sky

Buried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2's Deadliest DayBuried in the Sky: The Extraordinary Story of the Sherpa Climbers on K2’s Deadliest Day by Peter Zuckerman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Could not put it down.
Very much follows the pattern of the superb Into Thin Air. This time 11 climbers from various countries and expeditions die in Aug. 2008, yet two Sherpas somehow live. Loaded with little details about Sherpa high altitude porters’ lives and customs. One tof their customs, caring for each other, ended up saving two lives. Pics too.
Despite researching for two years, I’ll niggle a bit. See missed one error in the text below one photo inside a tent with a “freeze-dried chicken breast”. Makes me question the quality of research on what matters in the story.
OK, hardly matters.
What I will keep with me after reading the book is what can foil planning, even after investing tens of thousands of dollars to get things right. Egos are what propel these folks to do these things, and egos appear to be what killed them, that and the effects of brain deterioration above 26,000 feet.
Sure to be a classic.
You won’t be disappointed.

View all my reviews

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Outdoors, winter camping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Buried in the Sky

  1. Burglar says:

    I’m going to pickup a copy today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

