Hiking in the Dark

From time to time I report content from other sites that support the direction of my own blog.

Section Hiker is one of those places where good ideas (and sometimes good deals, and give-aways) are the standard. I recently bought a very little used, and much lighter ice axe from the author, Philip.

While I haven’t yet done any night hiking this season, the days are starting to get shorter and it is good to know that it can be done safely, while enjoying the relative solitude of the night world. I am planning a night ride on my bike this evening, and have two lights that are fully charged and ready to go.

Check out the basics here.

20121024-071240.jpg

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, hiking, Imported Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hiking in the Dark

  1. Rockdawg69 says:

    Uncle Tom,

    Hurry up with the riding/hiking. Time to hunker down on Sunday/Monday. Another woman (Sandy) is headed your way. Hope she treats you folks gently.

    As a side note, looks like I’ll be getting out of retirement next month and going back to work for the Army for a year. Or until the money runs out after the Jan 1st pending debacle.

    Like

  2. tjamrog says:

    Why don’t you folks just suck her in to your hearts with all that southern hospitality. What ever it takes that allows one of keep walking is good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

