Road trip to Montana !

20120525-115036.jpg
Road Trip for the Balrog and Beerdog. Today marks the start of our journey to Montana, where Andy will depart of what will turn into a very long, bike ride- a 2,750 mile ride from Canada to Antelope Wells, New Mexico at the Mexican Border. He’s competing in the Tour Divide, the longest single stage bike race in the world. Read all about it here: Article on Andy’s upcoming Tour Divide race
We left High St. In Lincolnville, ME at 8 this morning, with no real plan of where we may end up tonight. We could camp or motel it. We have a drive of some 2,500 miles to our initial destination of Livingston, MT, where my son Lincoln has a home.
Conditions are good- overcast, not hot, traffic reasonable.
It was an emotional departure this morning- this is a big deal. Andy doesn’t get out much. He just told me that the last time he was in Western Massachusetts was in 1971.
I’m assisting getting Andy up to Rooseville, MT where we will part and he’ll ride his bike 280 miles north to the race start on June 8. I have my own bike in the back of the truck and plan some rides on and around the Continental Divide Trail.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Road trip to Montana !

  1. Cal Latham says:

    Well I was at the house at 0700…not a mouse was found to be stirring and the dogs did not bark….sooo I wnet back home. Here’s to a safe trip..Andy and Tom…Cal

    Like

  2. Craig says:

    Which bike did you take?

    Like

  3. Running Bear says:

    Oh my freakinn’ word! good luck and safe riding to both of you!

    Like

  4. Clarkie says:

    PARTY ON, my friend! and MUCH Success and MANY Jewels to Andy along his incredible path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

