Gear failure not the issue. It’s all about customer service

20120420-121730.jpg
.
Readers may know that I’ve given up on Big Agnes Aire Core mattresses due to multiple valve failures (3), after being told by their customer service that a valve failure is post unusual.
I have been totally satisfied with my Exped Downmat7 until this week, when it began spewing goose down out of the deflate valve, after I had used it about 40 times. Deflating the pad now requires considerable pressure due to the clogged valve.
On the positive side, Exped is right on, so far.
I shot Exped’s customer service an email, and that day received an e-mail from them requesting a photo of some numbers on the mat, and enclosed a photo of the problem. I answered a few questions and received another immediate response informing me that a brand new mat would be shipped out to me. This is the best response that a hiker can ever receive, and sets up a benchmark that should ensure satisfaction in future contacts. My experience is that all gear breaks (except for Western Mountaineering sleeping bags and Four Dog Stove’s Bushcooker LT stoves).
I am slightly concerned about what happened, and don’t want a repeat. Anyone else know about leak valve problems on an Exped mat?

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-five years old, retired, and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I like reading, and am outdoors every day. Nature is my gym. My exercise program involves more walking. For my upper body and core workout, I'll be shoveling snow, and when that's done, cutting, splitting, and hauling firewood. I have practiced Transcendental Meditation for an hour daily for the past 45 years.
Image | This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

