Friday Night Full Moon Camping

Occupy Mountaintops- Take 2. Full moon this Friday night, April 6, Good Friday. Auntie Mame and I will spend the night on top of Bald Rock Mountain in Lincolnville. Room for more. Weather should be great- no bugs!

Tenzing and Bald Rock Shelter

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-five years old and live in the Maine woods. I've thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, hiking, Maine, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Night Full Moon Camping

  1. tjamrog says:

    Friday night weather should be good for viewing. Mostly clear in the mid 20’s. Moonrise will be at 7:31 PM. Plenty of flat space for a tent, as well as second mostly dilapidated shelter up top. Some might like to tent or cowboy right on the flat spots on the ( frozen?) grass. Cowboy TV provided.

  2. Clarkie says:

    Don’t forget your Tiki-men!

  3. Fidgit says:

    I know wolves and coyotes travel in packs, but is it the same of werewolves? =P

  4. General Lee says:

    how was it? sounds like an excellent time. i whole-heartedly endorse this trip! loved watching the sunrise from atop Bald Rock, maybe the best viewpoint on all of the ME coast.

  5. Torsten Bremer says:

    Hey Tjamrog, hope you enjoyed your stay up there! I would have one question regarding the shelter on the photo: is this the one on Bald Rock? Does it still show a plate inside reading like “this shelter was built by international volunteers…” or so? The reason why I am asking is that I was one of those volunteers who re-build the shelter in 1994. And I am curious how it looks today? Greetings from Germany! Torsten

    • tjamrog says:

      Yes, Torsten. It is the one on Top of Bald Rick. Unfortunately it is in serious disrepair by now. Few people would stay there right now. Thanks for your work!

      • Torsten Bremer says:

        Sorry to hear the shelter is in a bad shape now! I am actually travelling to the US next week, and I am planning to make a short trip up to the shelter. I wonder if I remember correctly where it is located: from Google Maps, it looks like I have to take Bald Rock Road from Stevens Corner up the hill and then somewhat leftish towards Bald Rock Mountain? Can I enter Camden Hills State Park from there, or is there a different entrance? Sorry to bother you, but I only have limited time for that trip and I do not want to miss the direction, ending up elsewhere. On a map from the park authority, there is a trail numbered 8 and called Bald Rock Trail, I hope this is the one taking me to the shelter? Many thanks and again greetings from Germany. Torsten

  6. tjamrog says:

    Yes. you can park in the Steven’s Corner lot. There is a map at the kiosk at the start of the walk up the road. You walk up a mile and then turn left on the Bald Rock trail. I might go up with you if I am free.

    • Torsten Bremer says:

      That’s very nice of you, but I don’t want to taken up your time! I should be able to find it with your directions. Many thanks! Torsten.

      P.S. Do you by any chance now Jarvis Johnson? He used to work for the park autorisierten and was our supervisor when we build the selber.

Leave a Reply

