Gym? Naaah….

Backwoods workout gear

Who needs the YMCA when I have all I need right here?  Lately, I’ve been backpacking ( Camden Hills State Park), hiking, and getting my strength and flexibility workouts right outside the door by the woodpile.  Splitting wood is a upper body workout that is generally not available to my urban friends, but here in Maine it’s not only easy to access, but a means of saving money to get away on backpacking trips.  This mild winter had been unusually easy on the woodpile. Coming into this winter I had 7 tiers of seasoned hardwood stacked an under cover, and I have yet to finish the second tier, leaving me ample firewood for next year.  The woodshed is out in the front of our garage, facing the southern sun, which aids in drying.

 

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

