Raspberries on a Road Ride

Crazy good here. Did a 20 mile ride on the road one day early this morning, and heading back from Camden, just a couple of blocks from Route 1, I noticed what appeared to be a package of fruit in the road. There was no one walking or driving a car nearby, so I pulled over to check it out. Sure enough it was a plastic tray of fresh raspberries.

Proof

A couple on the bottom were crushed, so they most have dropped from a car, someone walking on the road with a ripped bag, or even maybe someone on a bicycle, just like me. I love fresh raspberries, but they are so expensive, and rightfully so, that I never buy them. I put them in my Camelback and rode out of Camden, through Hope, back to my home in Lincolnville. I’ve found an array of surprises while biking these roads; for example, a $100 knife, a #10 bill, numerous wrenches and screwdrivers, but never fresh raspberries, in December, in Maine. You never know what turns up when you get out.

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Maine, Outdoors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raspberries on a Road Ride

  1. Guthook says:

    Heh. Classic. I found a $80 Smartwool t-shirt on the PCT in Washington, which was especially serendipitous since I’d destroyed two nice wool t-shirts on that same trip. Never food, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

