Gear Tip

I like this 4 minute video and plan to try out each of the 25 variations on how to wear a scarf this winter here in Maine. Might be a way to break up the cold dark starts to these days to come.  I do carry a 1 ounce silk cowboy-style scarf, both in summer and winter, on my backpacking and my motorcycling trips. I have even resorted to wearing it over the top of my head, like my grandmother used to do when she went outside.  Most of the time, I wear it like this:

Ready, partner?

It is a video of twenty five ways to wear a scarf.

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, hiking, Maine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gear Tip

  1. In Nepal, even during the hot weather, it is not unusual for men to wear a shawl, and among the various presents i was given for my work there this past summer, one was a men’s shawl, the kind a poor farmer woudl wear, with hand-embroidered designs of the “hot pepper” plant, which I thought was wicked cool. I sometimes bring it to meetings here at UH when the A/C will be on and I know the room will be cold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

