Fall is Hiking

So much nature coming at me, I’ve been outside rather than typing.
First of all, the BEST loop up here, for my money, is the one that Auntie Mame and I took recently.

Auntie Mame Along the Great Big Sea

In Camden Hills State Park –> Bald Rock Mountain from Youngtown Road via the Frohock Mountain Trail. You can complete more of the woods walk by coming down the Bald Rock Mountain Trail to the Multiuse trail. Probably somewhere a bit over 4 miles of walking over a gravel road, with real hiking trails branching off into the woods.

Yep

The view from the top reveals 180 degrees of Atlantic waters, punctuated with greenish clumps of granite islands, a view that stretches far out into the eastern sky.
I want sleep up on top of Bald Rock some night soon, and wake up to the sun rising over Penobscot Bay. There are several grassy flat places up there to rest on.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Camping, hiking, Maine, Outdoors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall is Hiking

  1. Karl Gottshalk says:

    Great trail. I did that loop before work for a month or two the spring before last, trying to time it so I got a sunrise photo each day. We camped up there one night last year when Camden was having fireworks. We have a lot of good memories there. I ran into Guthook up there once.

    Like

  2. Richard WiZZ says:

    Maine looking pretty nice right about now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

