Pulling my Hair Out ! Using GPS! AARHGH!

View from ledges on Levensellar Mountain

Well, I’m sort of embarrassed to display the product of so many hours of my efforts! What I have been working for weeks, and it looks like I am almost successful with, is to:
1.Track on my “new” Garmin Geko GPS any hike, bike, or canoe trip.
2.Download the data into my MacBook.
3.Convert the data into a form that overlays on a map.
4.Display the route on the map that can be viewed on this blog.
I will someday, but not today, for sure, explain why I ended up spending MANY hours of frustration getting here. For now, I got to get a break away from this pursuit, but here is a 5.4 mile out and back hike that I took yesterday up from my house to the top of 1030′ Levensellar Mountain.
It’s good, yes? No?

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pulling my Hair Out ! Using GPS! AARHGH!

  1. Clarkie says:

    looks like you were weaving a bit, and took off down a few dead ends!!! Had you and Tiki-mon been dipping in the “Cold River” ?? 8^)

    Like

  2. tjamrog says:

    It was an out and back route, up through a high blueberry field that led to bushwhacking through dense forest up to a ledge on top. The gaps were times where there was satellite blockage from leaf cover. Tiki-Mon took a break on this one, but is pleased to hear he’s invited to thru-hike the Long Trail in August. I want to hike up Chocorua this summer, you want to join me? My brother in law said he will allow us the use of a cabin on the trail up there. as well, and I want to spend a night in it.

    Like

    • Clarkie says:

      YES to Chocorua! ABSOLUTELY. In fact, I am thinking of hiking it this coming Saturday as it is close by (90 minute drive)and we have a birthday party to attend Saturday afternoon, so I need to be able to be home by 1600. Nothing definite yet, but a goal…. Weekend of July 30 is unlikely for me as you plan. keep me posted

      Like

      • tjamrog says:

        July 30 I have a special talk to give on the PCT at UMASS in Amherst . Lots of old friends will be there. UT

        However mean your life is, meet it and live it; do not shun it and call it hard names. It looks poorest when you are richest. The fault finder will find faults even in paradise. Love your life, poor as it is. You may perhaps have some pleasant, thrilling, glorious hours, even in a poorhouse. The setting sun is reflected from the windows of the almshouse as brightly as from the rich manís abode; the snow melts before its door as early in the spring. -Thoreau

        Like

Leave a Reply

