Trail Days- Friday

Trail Days -Friday.
Frequent surprises today, which included running into Dash, Wild Child, and Chance from the PCT and then from the AT Serial, Marta, Stumpknocker, plus Ms. Gorp. I chatted a bit with “Old Man” Paul Senechal, who runs the Appalachian Trail hostel and the AT Cafe in Millinocket, ME. He told me that Baxter has much snow and ice up high and is now slated to open two weeks late, on June 1.

Tillerman, AKA Andy Oliver

Andy Oliver is here from Lincolnville, ME too, who thru- hiked the AT in 2010. I also heard my name called at the Four Dog Stove Booth, and realized that Squatch had found me.

Squatch

He’s a west coast documentary filmmaker who shot and produced 3 of the PCT Walk series DVD’s. He’s doing a documentary of “Personalities on the AT”. I made him coffee and fed him a croissants. It was a real lift to connect with those folks. Again I feel that Damascus is the friendliest hiker town ever. I walk down the street and hear people call my name. It is a comfort to me.
I spent many hours today hanging out at the booth, answering questions about stoves and other gear and watching Don work the customers who were coming up to the table. We sold a lot of $1 titanium tent stakes. People seem to like holding knives, as well.
What gave me satisfaction was having my Leki poles serviced for free, where they replaced my tips, and both lower sections and also repaired the adjusting mechanism on the left wrist strap. I was also fed up with my Petzel Elite headlamp . The light portion was so loose in the ball joint that it just kept flopping down, preventing use of it on my forehead. I traded it in for a $30 Princeton Tech headlamp that actually works, one that I would be able to night hike with, something the Petzel was feeble at.
We had a big thunderstorm come through at 5 PM and had to move a lot of gear undercover at the mule trailer. Big blow, strong rain, but no real problems. I’m exhausted. More of this tomorrow.

20110513-093837.jpg

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Backpacking, Camping, Gear and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trail Days- Friday

  1. Joe says:

    I want to go through Damascus, now!

    Like

  2. Craig says:

    Kids and I hiked Spruce Mt. last Saturday and enjoyed a boil up of hot chocolate via the Four Dog Stove you let us borrow!

    Like

    • tjamrog says:

      Glad to see the gear in use, and it is excellent for you to have a fun experience with your children. I didn’t have space to pack up the new titanium pot but it will be here soon. Let’s get out there soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

