April 1 blizzard

20110402-102051.jpg

-Associated Press:
“In Maine, the coastal town of Hope and the town New Sharon, 60 miles inland, both saw a foot of snow, and many locations approached that amount. But Portland saw only a half-foot of snow, far below the city’s record of 11.1 inches for an April Fools’ storm in 1922.”
I had more than a foot, just 2 miles from the Hope border, but 400′ in elevation.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 1 blizzard

  1. Ryan says:

    About 8″ in Belfast, but let’s not forget that it was WET and HEAVY snow, too! When I was on the AT there was a big snowstorm on April 9 if I remember right. That’s the last time I can remember a bit April snowstorm. Tons of fun! Did you get out on your snowshoes a bit?

    • tjamrog says:

      Heading out Sunday morning over to Camden Hills or Mt. Pleasant. You are welcome to come along. I absolutely love the Lightning Axis snowshoes, so much better than the Tubbs/LLBean’s that broke. Call me for Camden hiking.

  2. Rockdawg69 says:

    You are welcome. We sent it from here (SE Georgia) on Wednesday night and Thursday morning just for you folks. We only had 2 inches of rain.

Leave a Reply

