The Paleo Solution

My workouts are getting boring. I was trudging into the YMCA or hitting the road and it was just like work, grind it out. My hiking buddy Craig has been excited about the Paleo program. My King Pirogi band mate Jake and his wife Jude have both dropped weight and become more healthy from being on the program so I decided to borrow the book from Craig and see what was going on.
I read from page one and was plodding through the usual testimonials and the references to diet science that frankly, I don’t usually focus on. I’ve read so many of these type of books that I realized that whatever one author was quoting as the truth was attacked by another author as a pack of lies. Even the author apologizes for the front half of the book with all the technical data.
I became more intrigued with the simplicity of the excercise section.
Yesterday, I departed from my normal routine at the Y which usually involves combinations of free weights, stretching, some back exercises, weight machines, and the treadmill. Instead I hit the indoor track at the Y, where I did 4 very fast loops walking at about a 4.3 mph pace. After the 4 laps, I walked to a mat, dropped and did 15 push ups, then I grabbed two 20 pound dumb bells and held them up by my shoulders and did 15 squats, and finally I rigged up a barbell overhead on a rack, and did 15 pull ups. Then I did this whole thing, again, and again, and again, for a 45 minutes period- all of it without taking a rest between any of the components of the routine. It was actually interesting, challenging, and even a bit fun. I never walk on the track. I liked it, especially the feeling of air moving across my body as I tore round the loops.

Today I feel sore, but not terribly so, meaning there was real work there. I’m encouraged by my first session, and look forward to more of this low tech, functional exercise program.

Additional information about the whole Paleo deal, including lifestyle, etc. via Outside Magazine article

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

