Why Do People Fly in Seaplanes?

Reader of this blog might remember that I’m a fan of using floatplanes to get onto backpacking Appalachian Trail entry points points within  Maine’s 100 Mile Wilderness.  If not, here’s the original blog entry entry about my last flight with Katahdin Air.

Check out this message , that was sent to me today,  from
Jim Strang | PO Box 171 Golden Rd, Ambajejus Lake | Millinocket, Me 04462        fly@katahdinair.com              1-866-FLY-MAINE

“During an interview with a Maine Tourism agency rep I was asked the question, ‘why do people fly in seaplanes?’ I was taken off my feet with that one. After 30 years of bombing around the state in one I thought I may have missed something. That is, perhaps the obvious has been hiding on me. You know,  like a moose hiding behind a dandelion.

Now that I have collected my wits this is what I wish I had told him:  “Maine is by far the biggest of the New England States. Heck, just our northern forest alone is eleven times bigger than the whole state of Rode Island. Yes, Maine is pretty big but seaplanes go fast. Most of the state is remote. Seaplanes land in remote areas. Maine’s roads are crooked. Seaplanes go in a straight line…most of the time. Maine roads are hazardous. To my knowledge a seaplane has never hit a logging truck or a moose. Maine has very few airline serviced airports. Seaplanes connect them all with direct flights to anywhere in the state. (just as an aside, Our soul mates at Penobscot Island Air connect the airlines with the rest of Maine’s 36+ small airports). Seaplanes can drop you right at your destination for fishing, canoeing, hiking, for Sporting Camps, remote cabins, and woodsy corporate functions. Try calling Net Jets with that request. Seaplanes fly safely at altitudes that turn Maine into a menagerie of wonder. Only seaplanes can utilize Maine’s 3000 most interesting landing strips.  The saying “you can’t get there from here” does not apply to seaplanes.”

“So what are you thinking mister? Remote states need remote friendly transportation. Do you  think you are going to get to Baker Lake @ ice-out using high speed rail?”

Of course I did not tell him that. Instead I gave him a typical brain dead Maine response, “Ahhh, I dunno.” So much for winning The Apprentice.

To change gears here, we will be emailing our annual wildlife events calender in a few weeks. It lists the dates for natural events in the Northern forest like fly hatches, seasonal moose habits etc. If you have anything you might like to add to the calender (like the matting dates of the balled headed long fanged woods mouse)  just email me with it and I will include it in the calender.

Remember, woods vacations keep you healthy, happy and tuned in to Maine’s great outdoors.”

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Backpacking, Camping, hiking, Imported Posts, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

