Thanksgiving 2010

I’s not alone in hoping for the chance to feel deeply around the holidays. As we move about our lives, often without a map or a clue, we encounter doors that we never expected. Today, one of those portals opened for me. You can diss social media, but today my chance came through Facebook, where my legislative representative, Andy O’Brien, posted a YouTube video of a song about Ellis Island, and immigrants coming to live in America at the turn of the last century: The Pogues- “Thousands Are Sailing”. All my grandparents were from Poland, and came here as mere teens, leaving their own families with hopes in their hearts for jobs, love, and homes of their own. It must have been so difficult. I thank them for my life this Thanksgiving.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

