Pile ‘o Discount Flashlights

So, right after I reviewed the $110 Surefire Defender para military device, this full page ad from Ocean State Job Lot with dozens of deals shows up in the Bangor News-   “6 Pack of 9 LED Flashlights”  for $10- “Batteries Included”. You can see it below,  on the right side under the ” Halloween Glow Items”.

Ad in Bangor Daily News

I was headed up to Belfast anyways last night, and picked up a pack. Here they are:

They appear to have the same rubber end switch as the Surefire. The packaging material reads, ” 9 LED aluminum” ( yep, not plastic),  LED bulbs never need replacing last up to 100,000 hours ( verbatim) , and 18 AAA batteries included. Made in China”.

I tested a sample of batteries, and they all appeared fresh, reading 1.57 volts.  Loaded with 3 AAA’s, and with supplied lanyard attached, one flashlight weighs only 1.5 ounces.

So?  Does it even work?

I have no idea how many lumens the 9 LED units put out, but it sure ain’t 200!

When we blackened the house last night and I switched one on, ” That’s pretty bright!”  Auntie Mame exclaimed.

These things are definitely worth $1.66 each (complete with batteries).

Want one?  I’ve got a few extras.

About Tom Jamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, the Continental Divide Trail in 2013, the Camino Portugese (2016), and Newfoundland's East Coast Trail (2017) . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Camping, Gear, hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pile ‘o Discount Flashlights

  1. Bubba Nelson says:

    Send one my way!!

    Like

  2. Dennis (of Dennis & Jackie) says:

    we go thru flashlights here like candy. maybe I’ll run up to Belfast and pick me up a pack…

    glad you’re back..have you spent the night outdoors since your return?

    Like

Leave a Reply

