PCT Completion Medal

I met Eric Ryback on April  25th this year while I was attending the 2009 ADZPCTKO .  Eric was the first person to thru hike the PCT, back around 1970 when he just graduated from high school. Prior to his hike, it was considered impossible for a person to hike the whole thing in a single season. Eric had also contributed a chapter about his AT thu hike in the classic, now out-of-print,  two volume Rodale Press set about people who had completed the AT. After that story inspired me, I applied for and received a grant that funded an outdoor exploration/ backpacking program that was targeted at potential high school dropouts.  I credit that program with saving the lives of several young people (who are now old ) whom I still visit with in Rockland, ME.

At the gathering in April, the  PCTA made public mention of a completion medallion that  would be available to those who had completed the Trail.  Eric himself put up the funds to produce the medals, as a way of honoring those of us who sacrificed time, money, blood, sweat, and tears to walk 2,656 miles. Mine arrived in the mail today. I wept when I held it.  I’ve never been above average at any sport in my life, but after 60 years, I feel like I’m king of the world.  Thanks, Eric.

9.3 ounces of beauty

Personal Inscription - reverse side

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Pacific Crest Trail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PCT Completion Medal

  1. Congratulations. That is incredible!

  2. Clarkie says:

    WOW! That is VERY cool and you are so very deserving of it.

  3. Bubba Nelson says:

    Way cool Tom, congrats, you have every right to be proud of the major accomplishment!

  4. sheri says:

    Oh Uncle Tom — That is just awesome!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

