Improved, Better Posts

I’m thrilled with current testing my new 4G IPod Touch, which now gives me the ability to take video and photos with the device. In the future, I can record HD video and still shots from the device and post them to the blog immediately.

Here’s a photo I just took of the page entitled For Running Shoes, It’s Fit First and Price Last in Today’s NY Times. It’s a must read for lightweight backpackers. This article sheds some light on why most folks wear shoes that are too small , and explains why buying two sizes larger could be necessary.

I looked like a clown in my over sized 14’s out there , but this clown never had to suffer through any blisters.  Anyone on the PCT who wore light running/ trekking footwear had blisters. It seemed to be a given. I credit my size 14  OTB Boots for keeping me blister free.

[Disclosure:  I was sponsored by OTB on my 2010 PCT thru hike.]

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Pacific Crest Trail and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Improved, Better Posts

  1. Clarkie says:

    Do you have problems with slippage(?) on descents? My current boots are VASQUE Men’s Wasatch Gore-Tex Backpacking Boots. I consistently suffer severe pain in my little toes of my very wide feet to the point where the nails are blackened a few days later. Anyone have some advice for a more comfortable descent? I’m about ready to wrap the little piggies in pipe insulation! Ascents are great! I have had other boots (Old Bean’s Cresta’s?) which did not give me this problem and felt great, but wore them out.

    Like

  2. tjamrog says:

    Any nail damage would likely be due to either boots too small or lacing too loose

    Like

  3. John says:

    Clarkie, on one hike long ago I lost three toenails because my new shoes were too small. Tears were running down my cheeks. I, too, have wide feet. The best a store can do is to sell the most appropriate fit from what it has in stock. Recently I settled for shoes that are unnecessarily long in order to accommodate the width. They are doing the job, but next time I will shop online to get what I need, not just the best a store can offer. Wide feet, wide shoes.

    Like

  4. Clarkie says:

    hmmm..too small…I hadn’t thought of that because I normally buy long…they feel very good ascending…I’ll have to try stretching them somehow
    thanks for the feedback

    Like

  5. Pat McNeill says:

    Note that Asics and New Balance running shoes come in widths. I have had a problem with requiring a wider shoe – and when you have blisters, drain them and tape them, you need an even wider shoe to accommodate the tape. Uggh! Also, the fit of a shoe required to run a 10K 3x a week is quite different from that required to hike 25 miles a day, day after day.

    Like

  6. tjamrog says:

    You won’t go wrong with bigger shoes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

