Had enough? “The Paradox of Choice”- book review

The Paradox of Choice: Why More Is Less The Paradox of Choice: Why More Is Less by Barry Schwartz

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Another book in the continuing saga of questioning abundance. Not exactly. In one part, it lays out the psychology behind why one often experiences a letdown after purchasing an item that one has craved. It also illuminates the exhausting situations we find ourselves in these days, as we consider what to eat, where to live, even what to do each day as we are bombarded by a ridiculous number of options at every turn. Sort of like why one looks at Goodreads. One way of coping with choice is to see what your friends choose. Time and time again, I found myself saying, ” Good point”, as I read through this book. And don’t we squander away time in the outdoors, or talking with friends, or children in dealing with all the choices we struggle with? This book was right up my alley. There is an amazing number of excellent ideas in it. I plan to re-read it. I am more convinced that ever that ” good enough” is going to be one of my daily mantras, that and it is a lonely walk if you pursue the idea of wanting to be sure that you are experiencing ” the best” choice in whatever category comes your way. I think this review is good enough for now. Later.

View all my reviews >>

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

