Ibuprofen: This is not a vitamin I experience !

Does Ibuprofen Help or Hurt During Exercise?
By Gretchen Reynolds

Many thru-hikers down a daily dosage of ” Vitamin-I” . I have been much more sparing in using Ibuprofen after my orthopedist warned me about the negative effects of frequent dosage of this so-called antiflammatory and painkiller. Here’s the research which explains why:
http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/09/01/phys-ed-does-ibuprofen-help-or-hurt-during-exercise/
Bottom line is just ” suck it up” and “party on” out there.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Backpacking, Fitness, Imported Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ibuprofen: This is not a vitamin I experience !

  1. Bubba Nelson says:

    I am always sure to pack Vitamin I in my ski backpack, it has saved my arse on many occasions. Also carry some in my pack whilst mountainbiking.

  2. Pingback: For Athletes, Risks From Ibuprofen Use « Tjamrog’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

