Spring May Have Arrived

I had a great day yesterday, combining some decent work with spending time outside.  I have been traveling to work via tiny airplane to Vinalhaven Island one day a week for the past five weeks, and the weather yesterday made for the best flight yet. I was in the plane by 6:55 AM, riding out with the mail.  Inside the tiny storage compartment there was a racket I had never heard before on any of my prior flights.  Amongst the mail was a box of baby chickens, cheeping away like crazy. The ride only takes 10 minutes, with a takeoff from Knox County Regional Airport in Owls Head.  A quick ascent to 2,500 feet then the descent to the scary, sketchy gravel rumble strip of a landing zone carved out between rocks and trees.  Here is a shot of the Penobscot Bay islands:

Penobscot Bay

Penobscot Bay

I finished work and was whisked off to my return flight at 1:15 PM.  The views were just as good as in the morning.

In the afternoon, I decided to walk the Uncle Tom trail, and took Jody the dog along.  It was really fun walking in the woods again, with soft easy footpath, and just a start of shoots rising up out of the ground. On top of the ridge up near 1,000 feet I found one huge cluster of daffodils near an abandoned stone wall, likely planted there by someone, who lived maybe generations ago.  When I came home, I played with Woolie in the field for a while.

Woolie

Woolie

In three weeks I take 10 days to canoe the Allagash Wilderness Waterway.  We hope to squeeze some decent traveling days just after ice out and just before black fly hatch.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Fitness, hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

