G-I-A-R-D-I-A

Check out this puppy:

3D giardia model

3D giardia model

First, I thought I had the flu, but after suffering through 5 days of diarrhea,  ended up seeing my physician, who is in the process of finalizing the diagnosis of giardia.

My symptoms started exactly 10 days after returning from the Great Slush Walk of 2009, consistent with the incubation period for this nasty intestinal parasitic traveler.   Fatigue, 5 pounds of weight loss, no headache, no bleeding, these are all part of the package.  I suspect that the untreated,  unboiled water that I drank in my last steps exiting from Moosehead Lake was the event that led to this.  It was the end of a long grueling 15 mile day of pulling the sleds, and I was parched-dehydrated, after running out of water  couple of hours before.  Two days of three-times-a-day tablets of metronidazole is finally starting to firm up not only my stools, but my resolve to return to the land of the living.

About tjamrog

I'm sixty-seven and live in the Maine woods. I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2007, the Pacific Crest Trail in 2010, Vermont's Long Trail in 2011, and the Continental Divide Trail in 2013 . I am outdoors every day. I offer guided backpacking trips and classes in Maine, through "Uncle Tom's Guided Adventures".
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping, hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to G-I-A-R-D-I-A

  1. There are so many good filters out there that are light and easy to pack into whatever situation you find yourself. A good filter gets rid of that kind of intestinal junk. The problem with diarrhea is that it dehydrates you further. If you are miles from civilization, this could be quite serious. – Nate

  2. Arlo says:

    Oh no!!!! Hope you have some good reading material!

Leave a Reply

