BushBuddy Stove Tweaks @ Backpacking Light

Good article, with exhaustive ( no pun intended) details on the concept of a wood stove gassifier system–>> BushBuddy Stove Tweaks @ Backpacking Light.

The diagram of how the air flows through these systems is particularly good.

 

I have posted instructions for a home-made version of the unit, primarily made from a 1 quart and 1 pint paint cans. I have just recently updated the construction ( July 2012)  to improve efficiency.
Due to repeated inquiries from people about how to make their own stoves, I will be conducting a workshop in Camden, ME at 6 PM on October 16, 2012 through Five Towns Adult Education where I will assist participants in constructing their own gassifer stoves. All components will be provided for $10 materials charge. We will have time to practice building wood fires in them as well.

Here’s the July 2012 model, that boiled up a pint of water in 5 minutes.

3 thoughts on “BushBuddy Stove Tweaks @ Backpacking Light

  1. Wish I was close enough to attend the workshop. I was stationed in Brunswick in the early 90’s when I was in the Navy. My dad was also stationed in Presque Isle for a couple of years where I attended high school. I always loved that part of the country.

    • The workshop filled, and I’ve scheduled another one for March 6, 2013. We may do some advanced cooking at the end of the night, like teaching the group how to bake on these stoves. I find that packing three charcoal briquettes does the trick.

Leave a Reply

