Does Advil Hurt Healing?

BOTTOM LINE: If you can live without it, maybe you should.

In November of 2006 I had right side shoulder surgery.  The left one had been trimmed, reamed, and cleaned a long time before that.  I was fortunate enough to get in with Don Endrezzi, MD who was a consummate professional at every stage of the procedures.  After going in and working on it, Endrizzi told me that my shoulder looked identical to those that he does on 80 year olds that he recommends for replacement surgery.  He gave me 5 to 8 years before my time would be up, and it’s been 7 years, but I have taken it easy on the shoulder since then.  No bench presses of 300 pounds, no overhead presses, or dumbell extensions either.

At the time I was downing daily doses of ibuprofen, or Vitamin-I, to relieve the chronic shoulder pain that was bad enough that I’d sometimes wake up out of a sound sleep.  Dr. Endrizzi counseled me to change my ways, or else.  He told me back then that ibuprofen was never meant to be consumed in the way that I was doing it.  He told me that if I were to engage in significant shoulder activity, like working over my head with arms extended, that I could take 600 milligrams before I started working the shoulder , and treat it again through the next day, but to stop taking it on a frequent basis, due to the possible side effects of ulcers, bleeding, or holes in the stomach or intestine. Dr. Endrizzi told me these complications can occur at any time during treatment, may happen without warning symptoms, and may cause death. The risk is higher for people who take ibuprofen for a long time, are older in age, have poor health, or who drink three or more alcoholic drinks per day while taking ibuprofen.

Dr. Endrizzi gave it to me straight, ” Learn to live with low grade pain, and you will be healthier for it.  The pain is there for a reason.  It means back off.”

Now there is more.  Check out the Outside Magazine article below that refers to a second level of Stop signs to potential bleeds, or outright ulcers. Research suggests that the drug’s potential to negatively influence repair outweighs any beneficial effects it might offer.

Two strikes is enough for me.  If I step up to the plate and chance another home run, I may be out for the Big Season.

Does Advil Hurt Healing? | Fitness Coach | OutsideOnline.com.

2 thoughts on “Does Advil Hurt Healing?

Leave a Reply

