Fat Bike = mud, no problem

Trying to look fat here

Last night I have the pleasure of riding with three of The Bubbas in The Bog, launching my first weekday evening ride with these guys in 2012. I had been nursing my left ankle (no exercise) for three days, icing and elevating it while dosing up on ibuprofen.  It worked!

I am very pleased at how the fat-tire bike performed in muddy conditions.  If fact, there were two places where I even passed Craig Mac, who had been stopped in his tracks more than once by the slippery path. I NEVER have passed Craig Mac before.  Ian was on his Mukluk  fatties, so we were able to compare notes on the ride.  First, stock Larry fat tires don’t have the tread to grip well in the mud.  I bought a pair of the more knobbie-equipped Nates when I ordered my bike, and Ian was frustrated enough with the stock tires that he coughed up the big bucks to mount a set of Nates on his ride. I feel so confident on the bike, with the proof coming on the uphill on the Georges Highland Path section of this ride, where I  cleared a whole big mess of trail that I had never done before, churning up all the way across the power line and then up and out by the big pine tree.

The bike allows me to just point the bike toward lower sections of the path ahead and crank- it bounces a bit due to the mere 7 pounds of tire pressure in the big 4 inch tires, but it eventually settles, where  then the huge footprint grips a rot, rock or something and then I’m moving ahead.
5.0mi, Elevation 513ft

One thought on “Fat Bike = mud, no problem

Leave a Reply

