Appalachian Trail speed record broken

Hiker Breaks Record on Appalachian Trail   By KEITH MULVIHILL

Published: August 1, 2011
Jennifer Pharr Davis hiked the roughly 2,180 miles of the Appalachian Trail in 46 days 11 hours 20 minutes, breaking the record of 47 days 13 hours 31 minutes held by Andrew Thompson since 2005. Pharr Davis set out from Mount Katahdin in Maine on June 15 and reached the top of Springer Mountain in Georgia at 3:26 p.m. Sunday.

Pharr Davis rose at 2:45 a.m. the past two days, hiking 60.2 miles Saturday and the final 36.2 miles Sunday. A crowd of more than 50 people gathered atop Springer Mountain to greet her. “I just cried,” she said. “It was such a relief.”

3 thoughts on “Appalachian Trail speed record broken

  1. In 2010 my single biggest day was 20.1 miles and for the state of New Jersey (which I enjoyed far more than I expected…) I averaged 16 miles per day. As a younger man, I used to sometimes do a 14 every now and again. But I always considered this to be anathema to a hiker*s truest ethos. Should we pave the Trail so as to make future records attempts more competitive? This lady is a far better athlete tham I was ever was, but ……..

  2. An incredible accomplishment, hard to envision for sure. She overcame some serious shin splints early on. Speed hiking not on my “bucket list,” but I am wowed by this feat.

Leave a Reply

