New titanium Backpacking Wood Stoves!

I got a UPS package from Don Kevilus at Four Dog Stoves at 6 PM last night, just as I was ready to go out for pizza with Marcia.  The box had two brand new ultralight backpacking titanium wood stoves that were sent for me to test.   Here is a photo of the brand new Bushcooker Light I .

Stove fits into the Snow Peak 700 cc mug on left

Stove fits into the Snow Peak 700 cc mug on left

The stove is tiny, only 3.5 inches wide and 4 inches high.  It weighs 2.5 OZ.  I was so worked up about the stove that  I was out there last night at 9PM and actually burned up just 1.2 ounces of wood to successfully boil up 2 cups of water in my MSR titanium pot.  The stove can also burn alcohol, solid fuel tablets, charcoal, even dried dung!
I was so worked up about the stoves that after I came home, I went outside and started a fire in the tiny cooker.  I actually did not think the stove was capable of carrying out the task, as the firebox appeared to be too small to even hold enough wood to boil 2 cups of water.  Wrong, hit a rolling boil.  Weighing the stove indicated that I consumed only 1.2 OZ. of wood!   Unbelievable!  I can’t wait to work with the stoves on my canoe trip this upcoming week.  The stove is really something!  Full review later.

For those of you who need to know more about this stove, I’m posting the new page to Don’s catalog, which does not even appear to be on his website yet, but should be up around the 4th of July.

Bushcookerlt1The page was sent to me as a scan, so it is fuzzy, but here is a better picture of the new lineup.

New Light series of the all-titanium Bushbookers

New Light series of the all-titanium Bushbookers

One thought on “New titanium Backpacking Wood Stoves!

Leave a Reply

